Big Screen Art

The Latest News About Movies, Music, Events and Celebrity

Daft Punk’s Thomas Bangalter Announces a Solo Album

Daft Punk’s Thomas Bangalter Announces a Solo Album

Picture Credit score: Chris Jortiz / CC by 2.0

Daft Punk’s Thomas Bangalter pronounces a solo album and publicly reveals his face for the primary time.

Thomas Bangalter, half of the legendary French digital duo Daft Punk, has introduced his first orchestral solo album and publicly revealed his face for the primary time — as a sensible illustration. 

Though they launched some images of themselves early of their profession, Daft Punk shortly adopted an nameless profile. They famously appeared in public carrying elaborate robotic helmets, together with their efficiency on the 2014 Grammy Awards, the place they received album of the 12 months for Random Entry Recollections, their remaining LP.

Bangalter’s new album, Mythologies, releases on April 7 on Erato/Warner Classics. It was initially commissioned for the ballet of the identical title by the choreographer Angelin Preljocajwhich premiered by the Orchestre Nationwide Bordeaux Aquitaine beneath the path of Romain Dumas.

“As a considerable lyrical work, Mythologies finds the co-founder of Daft Punk reinventing his strategy to composition,” says the announcement, describing that the 90-minute rating “exhibits scant regard for typical stylistic boundaries” and divulges “a love of Baroque music and traces of American minimalism.”

The album first started within the autumn of 2019 when Angelin Preljocaj invited Bangalter to write down the music for a brand new mission to mark the end result of a number of years of collaboration with the Opéra Nationwide de Bordeaux. The ballet is meant for ten dancers from the Opéra Nationwide de Bordeaux’s ballet firm, together with ten others from Preljocaj’s personal firm, accompanied by the home’s resident orchestra. 

Mythologies Tracklist

  • I. Premiers Mouvements
  • II. Le Catch
  • III. Thalestris
  • IV. Les Gémeaux I
  • V. Les Amazones
  • VI. L’Arrivée D’Alexandre
  • VII. Treize Nuits
  • VIII. Danae
  • IX. Zeus
  • X. L’Accouchement
  • XI. Les Gorgones
  • XII. Renaissances
  • XIII. Le Minotaure
  • XIV. Eden
  • XV. Arès
  • XVI: Aphrodite
  • XVII. Les Naïades
  • XVIII. Pas de Deux
  • XIX: Circonvolutions
  • XX. Les Gémeaux II
  • XXI. Icare
  • XXII. Danse Funèbre
  • XXIII. La Guerre